top of page
Sarah Al Atassi

  FOIS

   il était ma

À travers mes projets, j’œuvre à un cinéma d’auteur libre et incarné. Dans l'émotion comme dans l'authenticité. C'est là mon intime engagement : mettre à l’honneur les parcours écorchés et les personnalités marginales, sans jamais renier les cultures plurielles. Ma came.? Rendre visibles les invisibles, qu'importe ma lame.

AUTOPORTRAIT

Aussi loin que je me souvienne, ma créativité a toujours puisé son inspiration dans le corps humain, à commencer par le mien. À peine savais-je marcher que j’explorais déjà mes possibles, étirant mon enveloppe pour tenter d'en comprendre le champ lexical. Ainsi ai-je multiplié les pratiques. Qu'elles soient sportives ou artistiques, je les voulais éclectiques par-delà les limites. ​Qu’il s’agisse de danser, dessiner ou dépasser les grades en karaté, j'aimais la physique et ses disciplines plurielles. Ainsi ai-je affûté mon goût pour le mouvement, pour le moment. De là est née une quête essentielle : celle de saisir l'instant, le réel.

 

Mais lentement, sûrement, ce manège m'a donné la gerbe. Trop d'heures de gym à rallonge. Trop de sœurs au régime. Trop de leurres, pas assez des miens. Trop de cours, pas assez de longs. Je voulais du chien, de la valeur. À bas les éclats et les liens qui entravent le cœur.​Finis les fracas arbitraires et autres fellations financières. J'ai dit non à l'amer d'une vie sans honneur. Mon travail, mon heure, ma manière. Mon talent, ma vision, ma carrière. Jamais je ne serai la catin de mes pairs. En dépit des fleurs-caresses-et-pistons pervers.

Je trouve mon épanouissement dans la nature viscérale de mes ouvrages, m'impliquant corps et âme. Fictions, documentaires ou encore clips… Qu'importe la forme, j'ai la flamme. J'ai la trique ! J’aime fabriquer avec passion et instinct sans jamais céder au passif. J’aime la dimension primaire de l’être, l'ivresse des sens, la corrélation entre esthétique et sémantique. Sonder le rapport établi entre la dimension sociologique de l'œuvre et le registre filmique choisi par son auteur·ice.

Fascinée par la place du corps dans l’espace, je me suis instinctivement orientée vers la danse et l’art dramatique. Le montage s'est rapidement greffé à ma démarche, m'apprenant à interpeller les sens à travers un jeu narratif et rythmique. Pour transmettre mes intentions de mise en scène plus globalement, j’ai amorcé mes premières réalisations en 2013, de façon autodidacte. C’est en les présentant à des battles de courts-métrages et autres festivals alternatifs que j'ai conscientisé l’écho de mon discours. Le déclic qu'attendait mon désir de cinéma. Ainsi ai-je franchi le pas (tardivement mais sûrement) en intégrant LA FÉMIS à l'âge de 28 ans (LA RÉSIDENCE, promo 2016-17). Cette expérience m'a permis de prétendre à une légitimité qui me semblait jusque-là hors d'atteinte. Alors resserré sur 11 mois de formation (principalement dédiée à l'écriture et à la mise en scène en vue de la réalisation d'un court-métrage produit), ce cursus intensif donna naissance au développement d’un cinéma engagé : le mien. De là est né Prends mon Poing, en 2017.

Sarah Al-Atassi par ©Albin Guyot

Vive le cinéma borderline, sensoriel, et incarné à l'excès.

mauvais genre
Mauvais Genre
bottom of page

top of page

dna

bullshit preambule.

Sarah Al-Atassi - FORCE_edited_edited.png

As far as I can remember, I've always considered creation as the fuel of life. Very early on, I launched into craft experiments, using my own being as first creative tool. I could barely walk when I began to explore the assets of such an amazing flesh vessel, stretching my envelope to dissect functioning. This curiosity took me on an exciting journey that came to a clear conclusion or, at least for me, a firm conviction. Namely that living body is the driving force behind creation.

These in-depth explorations led me to multiply body practices while I was still a kid. Whether it was about dancing, drawing or belt grading in karate... I loved physics, all disciplines combined. Indistinctly athletic or artistic, they had to be eclectic beyond limits. That's how I honed a taste for the moment, for movement. A taste that turned into an essential quest: grasping reality without giving up fantasy.

IMG_0002_edited_edited.jpg
Michel Mhanna Santoni  Sarah Al Atassi on the set of PRENDS MON POING (photo by Turki Al A

But soon, this game gave me the sheaf. Too many endless hours in gym competition. Too many sisters on a diet with no moderation. Too many bland lessons, not enough substantive education. Too much of theirs, not enough of mine. I wanted something real, big, brave! Down with the tears and bursts nestled in my heart. Wealth is pure prison when it smells like poison. No more unfair probation. Down with forced submission. I said no to the pain of a bitter life. My art, my career. My time, then my way. I'd never be the prey of my peers, despite their cheers or fat  wages.

I wove a passion for cinema through a multi-step learning process started as a kid. First with dance and drama. Later in high school, with editing whose savoir-faire taught me to question the senses through a narrative and rhythmic approach. To convey my artistic intentions more widely, I started making my debut movies in 2013, as an autodidact. Presenting them within indie film battles and other alternative festivals made me aware of the echo that my work gave off. I then acted on my film-making desire in 2016, by joining La Fémis as part of  "La Résidence" program (in France, La Fémis is the reference state film school under the responsibility of the Ministry of Culture and Communication). I experienced this intense training year as an opportunity to get involved in proactive professional development. An experience that gave birth to a committed cinema: mine. This year resulted in the release of my first "real" film project (produced with funds other than mine!). A pivotal film known as "Prends Mon Poing" ("Fist" in English). It was in summer of 2017, when my movie director career really started.

On a personal and artistic level, I like primary dimension of being, exhilaration of the senses, correlation between aesthetics and semantics. I like to probe the relationship that is established within a work, between the social themes raised by the story (scriptwriting) and the cinematic register chosen by the author to give them substance (directing). That is why, as a writer-director, I work for a hypersensitive cinema, embodied with passion and committed to diversity. My own way of honoring broken paths and forgotten outsiders. May the invisible become more visible.

by Bérénice Maigrot_2.jpg

Through my work, I give priority to non-verbal language. Preferring to save dialogues in order to highlight words of the body and thus remain closer to emotion. I thrive in visceral creation, involving myself body and soul. Narrative and documentary films, TV shows or music videos… No matter the hills, I'm up for new trick rodeos. No time to dream or room for flaws. Solo or in a team? Choice ain't mine but yours. I'm never passive when it comes to creation. I like to think with passion and build with instinct. Long live active and action cinema. 

bottom of page